Awake in Sochi: Bring on the Games

View from my room at night

View from my room at night

I have a lovely view from my hotel room at night.  When the flame is lit, I should have able to see it.  The only problems I have with my room are my kettle does not work, and there is no desk to work from.  (Rather, there is a desk occupied by a large television.)

I am up early because my Ukrainian team arrives this morning, though I am not exactly sure when.  I am very excited to meet them given everything that is going on.  The last time I saw any of them was when we discussed going to Sochi at the November 2013 Wikimedia Central and Eastern European conference.

Today’s plans include taking them to the media center, picking up opening ceremonies pictures and seeing what else is going on.

As I am writing on my iPad, I have some problems copy/pasting.  I had two news stories published overnight: https://en.wikinews.org/wiki/Jon_Lujan_named_United_States_flag_bearer_for_2014_Winter_Paralympics_opening_ceremony and https://en.wikinews.org/wiki/Preparations_underway_for_start_of_2014_Winter_Paralympics .

 

 

Leave a comment